Ask a Question - or - Return to the Faith and Spirituality Forum Index

Question Title Posted By Question Date
List of Dogmas and defined Truths Leon Sunday, June 10, 2018


Dear Br. Ignatius,

If as Catholics we are supposed to give our irrevocable adherence of faith to the Church's defined Dogmas and truths.

How come the Church has not given us a list of all the defined Dogmas and truths?

If someone is seeking to know all the dogmas and truths proposed up to now, shouldn't this information be readily available?

I'm aware of the Catechism of the Catholic Church. But I was looking for an official list, something more in the lines of Dr. Ludwig Otts "Fundamentals of Catholic Dogma."

God Bless,

Question Answered by Bro. Ignatius Mary, OMSM(r), LTh, DD

Dear Leon:

In the Catechism gives that which is required to believe. But, it is the wrong question to ask, "what must we irrevocably believe and adhere to." The reason for that is that we are to obey all four levels of Church teaching, whether or not that teaching is dogma or definitive teaching (Levels 1 and 2).

Before giving you an actual list, let us review those four levels of teaching:




Now here is a list of 255 infallibly declared dogmas of the faith. This list was prepared by Jonathan Byrd.



I hope this helps.


God Bless,
Bro. Ignatius Mary

Footer Notes: This forum is for general questions on the faith. See specific Topic Forums below:
Spiritual Warfare, demons, the occult go to our Spiritul Warfare Q&S Forum.
Liturgy Questions go to our Liturgy and Liturgical Law Q&A Forum
Liturgy of the Hours (Divine Office) Questions go to our Divine Office Q&A Forum
Defenfing the Faith Questions go to our Defending the Faith Q&A Forum
Church History Questions go to our Church History Q&A Forum